Tuesday, July 5, 2016

National Conference on Technology Vision 2035 held at Chennai

National Conference on Technology Vision 2035 held at Chennai
organized by TIFAC - IDF - SBIOA Educational Trust

On 5th July 2016, under the joint auspices of Technology Information, Forecasting and Assessment Council (TIFAC), Indian Development Foundation and  S.B.I.O.A. Educational Trust conducted a National Conference On Technology Vision 2035 at the SBIOA auditorium, Chennai.

The opening session was initiated by Dr A. P. Jayaraman, Senior Nuclear Scientist and Trustee, Indian Development Foundation, who introduced the audience to the Technology Vision 2035. Dr. Anil Kakodkar, Chairman-TIFAC & Former Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission, the Chief Guest, delivered the Keynote Address. Prof. Prabhat Ranjan, Executive Director, TIFAC, presented the Technology Vision 2035 document to the audience of nearly 1000, after which Dr. Gautam Goswami, Head, TV 2035 Exercise, TIFAC, provided an insight into the presented document. The opening session concluded with words by Dr. Thomas Franco Rajendra Dev, Secretary and Correspondent, SBIOA Educational Trust, who elaborated the design and focus of the day’s conference.

In the first plenary session on the first of the goals of Technology Vision 2035, Quality Education, moderated by Dr. A. P. Jayaraman, the speakers were Dr. Neeraj Saxena, Scientist, TIFAC, Shri S. M. Saleem, Deputy Commissioner, Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan, Chennai, Dr. R. Ramanujam, Professor, Indian Institute of Mathematical Sciences, and Shri J. Thomas, Department of Physics, SBOA Matriculation & Hr. Sec. School.

Post-lunch, in the second session of the day, the discussion on Clean and Potable Water was moderated by Dr. S. Janakarajan, Economist and Consultant, MIDS. The speakers for the session were Dr. Pushpito Ghosh, Former Director, CSMCRI, Bhavnagar, Dr. S. Prabhakar, Nuclear Scientist, Ex.BARC, Desalination Expert and Indian Development Foundation Ambassador, Dr. G. Venkatesan, Scientist, National Institute of Ocean Technology, and Dr. T. P. Raghunath, CEO, Centre for Ecology and Rural Development Secretary, TNSF.

In the third plenary session of the day, moderated by Shri Sanjay Ram, Project Co-ordinator, Indian Development Foundation, the speakers – Prof. S.S. Thipse, Dy. Director, Powertrain Engineering (Pune), Dr. G. Uma Devi, Professor, Transport Engineering, Dept of Civil Engineering, C.E.G.Guindy, Anna University, Shri K. Mohanram, Project Manager, Directorate of e- Governance, Chennai, and Shri Gitakrishnan Ramadurai, Assistant Professor, Transportation Engineering, Dept. of Civil Engineering, IIT Madras – discussed the goal of Safe and Speedy Mobility.

In the valedictory session, Dr. Thomas Franco Rajendra Dev spoke a few words on behalf of SBIOA Educational Trust. Dr. A.R.K. Pillai, founder President, Indian Development Foundation, concluded the valedictory session, and the day’s events, with his thoughts on the Technology Vision exercise and the nature of developmental activities in India. 

No comments: